UNM Compliance Matrix and UNM Compliance Directory

UNM Compliance Matrix

The UNM Compliance Matrix was developed by the Main Campus Compliance Office to document all known federal, state and local laws and regulations governing colleges and universities. It includes a summary of each law and the applicable reporting deadlines. The Compliance Matrix is updated on a continuing basis and relates the laws and regulations to the responsible UNM Compliance Partner along with specific reporting requirements, identification of the applicable university policy, appropriate training requirements, and regulatory agencies monitoring the law or regulation.

UNM Compliance Directory

The UNM Compliance Directory shown below is an accessible tool for the UNM Community to link to different Compliance Areas and the responsible units and department for that compliance area.

A
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Academic DishonestyDean of Students
Nasha Torrez, Dean of Studentsnashatorrez@unm.edu
Office of the ProvostJames Holloway, Provostjpholloway@unm.edu
Academic Freedom and TenureAcademic Freedom and Tenure CommitteeCarol Suzuki, 2020-2021 Chairsuzuki@unm.edu
Academic Integrity and Research EthicsGraduate StudiesWilliam Gannon, Academic Integrity and Research Ethics Directorwgannon@unm.edu
Accessibility - Students Accessibility Resource CenterAmanda Butrum, Directorajbutrum@unm.edu
Accessibility - Employees & VisitorsOffice of Compliance, Ethics & Equal OpportunityFrancie Cordova, ADA Coordinator and Chief Compliance Officerfcordova3@unm.edu
AccreditationOffice of the ProvostJoseph Suilmann, University Accreditation Managersuilmann@unm.edu
AdmissionsEnrollment ManagementMatthew Hulett, Director Admissions & Recruitmentmhulett@unm.edu
Affirmative ActionOffice of Compliance, Ethics & Equal OpportunityHeather Jaramillo, Director of Equal Opportunityhjaramillo@unm.edu 
Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drug Policies - StudentsDean of Students

Nasha Torrez, Dean of Students; nashatorrez@unm.edu
Campus Office of Substance Abuse and PreventionRandall Starling, Sr. Research Scientist/Program Managerstarling@unm.edu
Center on Alcoholism, Substance Abuse, and AddictionsJ. Scott Tonigan, Director of CASAAjtonigan@unm.edu
Human ResourcesMarleen Martinez, Executive Director Human Resourcesmarleen@unm.edu
Counseling, Assistance & Referral ServicesKathleen Clapp, Interim Director CARSkclapp@unm.edu
AthleticsDepartment of AthleticsEddie Nunez, Director of Athleticseddienunez@unm.edu
B
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Borrowing and Bonding AuthorityBoard of RegentsBoard of Regentsregents@unm.edu
Budgets and Fund BalancesOffice of Planning, Budget and AnalysisNorma Allen, Director, University Budget Operationsnallen@unm.edu
Budgets and ReservesOffice of Planning, Budget and AnalysisNorma Allen, Director, University Budget Operationsnallen@unm.edu
C
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Campus SafetyEmergency ManagementByron Piatt, Emergency Managerbpiatt@salud.unm.edu
Campus SecurityUNM Police DepartmentJoseph Silva, Interim Chiefjsilva23@unm.edu
Cash ManagementBursar's OfficeDaniel Borrego, Bursardborrego@unm.edu
Chemical SafetyEnvironmental Health and SafetyCasey Hall, Directorcbhall4@unm.edu
Child CareChildren's CampusDaniela Baca, Directordanielah@unm.edu
Clery ActOffice of Compliance, Ethics & Equal OpportunityMatthew Suazo, Compliance Coordinatormasuazo@unm.edu 
Computer and Information SecurityInformation TechnologiesJeff Gassaway, Information Security and Privacy Officerbase@unm.edu
Conflicts of InterestPurchasing

Bruce Cherrin, Chief Procurement Officercherrin@unm.edu
Office of Research and ComplianceEllen Fisher, Vice President of Researcherfisher21@unm.edu
Office of University CounselLoretta Martinez, Chief Legal CounselLPMartinez@salud.unm.edu
Contract and Grant AccountingFinancial ServicesLiz Metzger, University Controlleremetzger@unm.edu
CopyrightOffice of University CounselLoretta Martinez, Chief Legal CounselLPMartinez@salud.unm.edu
D
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Disability - StudentsAccessibility Resource CenterAmanda Butrum, Directorajbutrum@unm.edu
Disability - Employees and VisitorsOffice of Compliance, Ethics & Equal OpportunityFrancie Cordova, Chief Compliance Officerfcordova3@unm.edu
Distance EducationExtended LearningDebby Knotts, Executive Directordebby@unm.edu
DiscriminationOffice of Compliance, Ethics & Equal OpportunityHeather Jaramillo, Director of Equal Opportunityhjaramillo@unm.edu 
Drone SafetyEnvironmental Health and Safety; UNM PoliceCasey Hall, Director; Joseph Silva, Interim Chief cbhall4@unm.edu; jsilva23@unm.edu 
E
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Education Abroad Health and SafetyGlobal Education OfficeNicole Tami, Executive Director of Global Education Initiativesntami@unm.edu
Emergency ManagementEmergency ManagementByron Piatt, Emergency Managerbpiatt@salud.unm.edu 
Employment BenefitsHuman ResourcesJoseph Evans, Executive Director Human Resourcesjevans2@unm.edu
EmploymentHuman ResourcesKathy Agnew, Executive Director Human Resourcesagnewk@unm.edu
Environmental AffairsEnvironmental Health and Safety; UNM PoliceCasey Hall, Directorcbhall4@unm.edu
Export ControlIndustrial Security DepartmentDeborah Kuidis, Industrial Security Officerdkuidis@unm.edu
F
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Faculty Affairs and ServicesOffice of the ProvostJames Holloway, Provostjpholloway@unm.edu
Faculty HandbookOffice of the University SecretaryNancy Middlebrook, University Secretaryndm@unm.edu
FERPAOffice of the RegistrarSheila Jurnak, Registrarsjurnak@unm.edu
FCC License – KNME TVOffice of University CounselLoretta Martinez, Chief Legal CounselLPMartinez@salud.unm.edu
FCC License – KUNM RadioOffice of University CounselLoretta Martinez, Chief Legal CounselLPMartinez@salud.unm.edu
Federal Work StudyStudent Financial Aid OfficeBrian Malone, Director Student Financial Aidbmalone@unm.edu
Financial AidStudent Financial Aid OfficeBrian Malone, Director Student Financial Aidbmalone@unm.edu
Financial MisconductInternal AuditVictor Griego, Directorgriego14@unm.edu
Financial ServicesFinancial ServicesLiz Metzger, University Controlleremetzger@unm.edu
Fire SafetyEnvironmental Health and SafetyCasey Hall, Directorcbhall4@unm.edu
Foreign Gifts and ResearchOffice of Research & ComplianceEllen Fisher, Vice President of Researcherfisher21@unm.edu
G
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Gifts to the UniversityUNM FoundationJeff Todd, President and CEOjeff.todd@unmfund.org
Global EducationGlobal EducationNicole Tami, Executive Director of Global Education Initiativesntami@unm.edu
Governmental Relations & Legislative ActivityOffice of Government & Community RelationsBarbara Damron, Chief Government Relations OfficerBDamron@salud.unm.edu
H
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Hate/BiasDivision for Equity & Inclusion
Assata Zerai, Vice President for Equity & Inclusion; zerai@unm.edu
Office of Compliance, Ethics & Equal OpportunityHeather Jaramillo, Director of Equal Opportunityhjaramillo@unm.edu
Health and SafetyEnvironmental Health and SafetyCasey Hall, Director; cbhall4@unm.edu
Student Health & CounselingJames Wilterding, Executive DirectorJamesWilterding@salud.unm.edu
I
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Identity and Branding StandardsUniversity Communications and MarketingCinnamon Blair, Chief Marketing and Communications Officercblair@unm.edu
Industrial SecurityIndustrial Security DepartmentDeborah Kuidis, Industrial Security Officerdkuidis@unm.edu
Inspection of Public RecordsCustodian of Public RecordsRobert Tafoya, Public Records CustodianRobMTafoya@salud.unm.edu
Institutional Review BoardOffice of the Institutional Review BoardLinda Mayo, Director Office of IRB; petreel@unm.edu
Office of Research & ComplianceEllen Fisher, Vice President for Researcherfisher21@unm.edu
Institutional Support ServicesPlanning, Design, & ConstructionTeresa Costantinidistcostan@unm.edu
Office of Sustainability
Real Estate
UNM Bookstores
IPEDSOffice of Institutional AnalyticsHeather Mechlerhsmechler@unm.edu
Intellectual PropertyOffice of University CounselLoretta Martinez, Chief Legal CounselLPMartinez@salud.unm.edu
Investment ManagementOffice of Planning, Budget and AnalysisNorma Allen, Director, University Budget Operationsnallen@unm.edu 
L
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Labor Relations-Union InformationHuman ResourcesMarleen Martinez, Executive Director Human Resourcesmarleen@unm.edu 
Laser SafetyEnvironmental Health & SafetyCasey Hall, Directorcbhall4@unm.edu
M
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Minors on CampusOffice of Compliance, Ethics & Equal OpportunityMatthew Suazo, Compliance Coordinatormasuazo@unm.edu 
O
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Operational Funds and Bond ProceedsOffice of Planning, Budget and AnalysisNorma Allen, Director, University Budget Operationsnallen@unm.edu 
P
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
PayrollFinancial ServicesAdam Weeks, Executive Director Payrolladamw@unm.edu
Procurement PoliciesPurchasing DepartmentBruce Cherrin, Chief Procurement Officercherrin@unm.edu
R
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Records ManagementUniversity ServicesJulian Kitts, Supervisor Records Managementjkitts01@unm.edu
RegistrarEnrollment ManagementSheila Jurnak, Registrarsjurnak@unm.edu
Research ComplianceOffice of the Vice President for ResearchEllen Fisher, Vice President of Researcherfisher21@unm.edu
S
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Sexual HarassmentOffice of Compliance, Ethics & Equal OpportunityAngela Catena, Title IX Coordinatoracatena@unm.edu
Sexual Violence and MisconductOffice of Compliance, Ethics & Equal OpportunityAngela Catena, Title IX Coordinatoracatena@unm.edu
Social Media GuidelinesUniversity Communications and MarketingCinnamon Blair, Chief Marketing and Communications Officercblair@unm.edu
T
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Title IXOffice of Compliance, Ethics & Equal OpportunityAngela Catena, Title IX Coordinatoracatena@unm.edu
W
Compliance AreaResponsible DepartmentPoint of ContactPOC Email
Whistleblower Protection and RetaliationInternal AuditVictor Griego, Directorgriego14@unm.edu
Workers CompensationHuman Resources; Environmental Health & SafetyDorothy Anderson, Vice President for HR; Casey Hall, Directordtanderson@unm.edu, cbhall4@unm.edu